InterceptRadio.com Forums

The radio website that puts military & officer safety ahead of profits.
It is currently Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:43 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forums       Map Search       Database Search       Live Audio       Alerts       Wiki




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 1:58 pm
Posts: 3291
Location: AFK
Try Troubleshoot compatibility, and go for XP SP3 (32 bit if you get a choice)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:18 am
Posts: 1306
Location: In your nightmares
Did it. No joy. Even downloaded an earlier version of zadig

_________________
Slightly more apathetic than Portland.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:17 am
Posts: 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Hmm you're probably runnng into the known USB 3.0 issue with older USB devices. Unplug the RTL. Go into your motherboard BIOS and in the USB settings... look for something that mentions USB 3.0 or XHCI. There will be an option to disable that and run in EHCI or legacy mode only -- this forces your USB ports back to 2.0 mode. Save the changes and reboot. Windows will detect the change and install drivers. Then insert the device and it should be detected now.

Don't worry you can always revert the changes back if necessary. My SDRs do no work with this xHCI mode.

If this does not work then try in a different computer to verify the device even registers. You may have just got a lemon.


NOTE: MICROSOFT HAS PATCHED THIS PROBLEM AND IT SHOULD NOT BE AFFECTING ANYONE NOW


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2016 6:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:17 am
Posts: 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Updated the SDR instructions for the new year. It's much easier than previous versions. This is the best RTL SDR on the market. No more calibration issues. It has a metal case now. It's worth the $26 + tax.

https://www.amazon.com/RTL-SDR-Blog-RTL ... B011HVUEME


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:06 am
Posts: 2
Location: Ephrata WA
Hi Nick -- Dennis Eckert here, how living for the past 5 years in Ephrata. Been away for quite some time dealing with some physical disabilities but trying to get back into it.

Like you, I have the V3 SDR dongle thanks to a friend's donation. I have several questions ~

-- I switch between Windows 7 and Linux Mint 18 (Debian based) for SDR dongles, using GQRX on Linux. So, are you the forum's Linux 'guy' or resource?

-- I'm running SDR# in Windows latest version 1491 except now I see there is version 1500. You mentioned that #1337 better, but where do we get it? the older versions? As far as I can tell, airspy,com only carries the latest version. But I could be missing something due to some deterioration at my age of 70. (laugh).

-- I've been struggling with DSD 1.7 (not DSD+) in Linux but finally came up with this sequence of ~

time rtl_fm -d 1 -f 155.505M -p 4 -M fm -g 25 -s 48K | dsd -f1 -i -s - -w wsp1.wav Where 155.505 is Ephrata-Grant County (Moses Lake) WSP main dispatch. As you can see, output is recorded to a .WAV file so I can use VLC audio program to listen to hours of accumulated radio traffic.

-- My problem comes is that I'd like to listen to WSP in 'realtime' instead of just recording to WAV file. When I drop that -w wsp1.wav from the command string, the error is this re /dev/audio

Digital Speech Decoder 1.7.0-dev (build:v1.6.0-86-g7ee04e5)
mbelib version 1.3.0
Decoding only P25 Phase 1 frames.
Error, couldn't open /dev/audio
0: Generic, RTL2832U, SN: 77771111153705700

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U
Found Rafael Micro R820T tuner
Tuner gain set to 25.40 dB.
Tuner error set to 4 ppm.
Tuned to 155757000 Hz.
Oversampling input by: 21x.
Oversampling output by: 1x.
Buffer size: 8.13ms
Exact sample rate is: 1008000.009613 Hz
Sampling at 1008000 S/s.
Output at 48000 Hz.
Signal caught, exiting!

User cancel, exiting...
(BTW--even tho the V3 is advertised at 0-1 PPM, I kept changing the PPM factor and listening to WAV and then changing it and listening again until the +4 PPM seemed the clearest.

dsd has a command dsd -a that lists audio device names so one can write -o pa:0, for example, to declare that audio output should go to Device 0 of the audio card. But those options of -0 pa:0, pa:1, etc always return an error and the command line sequence I gave you re the WAV file errors out (after removing the -w wsp1.wav option).

Any thots would be appreciated, Nick...dennis


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:47 pm 
Offline
Scanner Gigolo

Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2004 2:23 pm
Posts: 1874
Location: User Unknown
Welcome back DENNIS!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:17 am
Posts: 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
KB7ST wrote:
I switch between Windows 7 and Linux Mint 18 (Debian based) for SDR dongles, using GQRX on Linux. So, are you the forum's Linux 'guy' or resource?

No definitely not. You'll have to see if someone else can respond to this thread. We have one or two Linux users here that know far more than me... I'm Linux-noob at best.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:51 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2000 9:20 am
Posts: 1824
Use ALSA. Here are some examples.

P25:
dsd -f1 -mc -i <(rtl_fm -F1 -o4 -g32 -f 484.7918M -s48000 -) -o >(aplay -r 8000 -f S16_LE -t raw -c 1)

Airband scanner:
rtl_fm -M am -f 118M:137M:25k -s 12k -l 120 -p 54 | aplay -r 12k -f S16_LE

or for an FM radio...
rtl_fm -f 101.1M -M wbfm -s 200k -r 48k -p 54 | aplay -r 48k -f S16_LE

with some manually specified deemphasis...
rtl_fm -f 101.1M -M fm -s 200k -o 1 -A fast -r 48k -p 54 -l 0 -E deemp | aplay -r 48k -f S16_LE


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 1:17 am
Posts: 2004
Location: Bellevue, WA
Thanks Rich!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2017 7:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:18 am
Posts: 1306
Location: In your nightmares
Mine is about to go in the chipper. So much easier to make a APX work instead

_________________
Slightly more apathetic than Portland.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by electricity. Copyright © 2013 Interceptradio.com