InterceptRadio.com Forums

The radio website that doesn’t molest your screen with advertisements.
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:29 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Forums       Map Search       Database Search       Live Audio       Alerts       Wiki

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 3:03 pm 

I am somewhat new to all of this so I am looking for some input for an issue I am having. Its the age old static issue. I listen to ICOM Police and Fire from the south end of Whidbey Island and I am having a difficult time receiving the Oak Harbor Fire and Police frequencies clearly. The frequencies will come in somewhat clear for several hours or less each day, then start to deteriorate( a lot of static so you miss every other word) for the remainder of the day. This is a daily occurrence, and it does not follow any pattern. I am wondering if I am too far away, bad antenna placement, CME's? What are my options?

Does anyone else have this issue who listens to ICOM? The rest of the frequencies come in fine.

I am using the following: Uniden BCT15X, 10' of RG142 Coaxial cable, DBJ-1 Dual Band antenna (152-157 MHz and 460-470 MHz) Ed Fong. The antenna is on the NW side of my house about 30 feet up on the peak. The scanner is just below the antenna on the second floor of my house. I am roughly about 30 miles from the ICOM dispatch building.

Oak Harbor police freq 460.575 PL 100Hz
Oak Harbor Fire 154.430 PL 100Hz

Any thoughts?

Thanks again.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2015 6:32 pm 

Your former synopsis is correct. Distance and topography play a major role for FM signal performance.

Weather conditions and humidity can also influence signal performance as well. Of course as you increase in the frequency band, cable loss and coax connector types each contribute to feed line loss.